Please note: The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio will now be called "UT Health San Antonio."

Filter by Program Categories

Pharmacology Graduate Symposium Dedicated In Memory Of Alumnus Matt Rowan

← Previous entry Next entry →

Author: Elizabeth Fucich | Category: Around Campus | Physiology & Pharmacology | Physiology and Pharmacology | September 01, 2016

The Department of Pharmacology will host the 23rd Annual Graduate Student Symposium on Friday, Oct. 28 at the LaQuinta Medical Center. This year’s symposium is dedicated in memory of pharmacology alumnus Matt Rowan.

The day will consist of poster presentations from students and postdocs, oral presentations from a current student and pharmacology alumnus, a keynote address, and an awards ceremony to include recognizing the department’s 2016 Student of the Year. 

Any trainee in a Department of Pharmacology-affiliated lab or any student in the pharmacology or neuroscience graduate programs is welcome to attend and present, and abstracts may be submitted using the online submission form no later than Friday, Sept. 16.

Current pharmacology student Fernando B. de Moura will give an oral presentation of his latest research. Pharmacology alumna Dr. Elaine Por, research biochemist at the ocular trauma division of the United States Army Institute of Surgical Research, will also give an oral presentation.

Dr. Bruce Littlefield, Ph.D., distinguished scientist and head of translational medicine in the global oncology medical affairs division of Eisai, will give the symposium address titled 'My Accidental Career: Natural Products, Microtubules, Cancer Drug Discovery and Other Cool Stuff That Was Never Part of My Plan'. Dr. Littlefield will also present his research at the Arthur Briggs lecture on Thursday, Oct. 27 in MED 409L, and anyone is invited to attend his lecture.

Breakfast and lunch will be served at the symposium, so please RSVP by Oct. 7 letting us know if you intend to attend (yes or no) and what lunch option you prefer. 

The full schedule is detailed on the RSVP form. Please email Sandra Westerman ( if you did not receive an invitation containing the RSVP form or if you have questions regarding your eligibility to attend or present.

We look forward to seeing you there!


2016 Graduate Student Symposium Committee

Elizabeth Fucich, Chair

2015 Poster Presentation Winners - (L-R) Roma, Juli and Allison

2012 poster presentation by a post doc, Matt Rowan, pharmacology alum who was named Student of The Year for 2009 – 2010, to whom the 2016 GSS is being dedicated.

2013 Poster Presentation Winners - Blaine, Dr. Rowan, Marisa and Julianne

2015 poster session

Pharmacology Graduate Student Jennifer Parrott Presenting at the 2015 GSS

Copyright © 2019 The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Links provided from the UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

← Previous entry Next entry →

comments powered by Disqus