Please note: The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio will now be called "UT Health San Antonio."

Congrats to our Alumni!

← Previous entry Next entry →

Where In The World Are They Now?

Author: Dana Reeder | Category: GSBS Alumni | July 21, 2014

Dear Alumni:

If you would like to share your successes and positions, please contact Dana Reeder,, with your information.

*  Shu Lin (CMM track) - Department of Urology, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA. Shu Lin who graduated from the CSB program in 2012, has just received a 2014 American Urological Association (AUA) Research Scholar Award. This is a competitive, peer-reviewed grant that covers fully two years of Sophie's salary and scientific meeting travel expenses! LinkedIn.

*  Monica Mann (CB track) - Department of Cancer Biology, MD Anderson Cancer Center.  Monica graduated from the CSB program in December 2013 and is currently in the CPRIT-funded TRIUMPH Fellowship Program at the MD Anderson Cancer Center.  While in graduate school, Monica was recipient of several awards including a Ruth L.Kirschstein National Research Service Award (F31 predoctoral fellowship) from NIH/NCI.


* Rasika Vartak (CMM track)  - Department of Pathology, Stanford University School of Medicine. Rasika Vartak graduated from the CSB program in May 2014. Rasika was the 2010 recipient of the CSB David Carillo Memorial Award for Excellence as a graduate student and she also received a prestigious Burroughs-Welcome Travel Scholarship to attend the annual Mitochondrial Medicine meeting in 2012. LinkedIn.

* Nikita Ruparel, PhD, DDS was recently appointed as a tenure-track Assistant Professor of Endodontics at Loma Linda University, Loma Linda, CA. Niki started out in our graduate program and then decided to go on to dental school here at UTHSCSA. While she was a student in CSB, amongst her many awards, Niki received the Top Poster Award at our annual retreat in 2006 and she also received the CSB Barbara H. Bowman Graduate Student of the Year Award in 2009. Niki has also just received her first independent funding at Loma Linda U, a five year/$250K fellowship award from the American Association of Endodontists. 

Copyright © 2019 The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Links provided from the UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

← Previous entry Next entry →

comments powered by Disqus