Please note: The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio will now be called "UT Health San Antonio."

Filter by Program Categories

Deadlines Soon For Three Awards Relevant To You

← Previous entry Next entry →

Author: GSBS | Category: Opportunities | June 23, 2017

AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science 

The AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science recognizes scientists and engineers who make outstanding contributions to the "popularization of science." Prize recipients receive a monetary prize of $5,000, a commemorative plaque, and complimentary registration and reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting to receive the prize.

Award winners include Jim Kakalios, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Kenneth R. Miller, May R. Berenbaum, S. James Gates Jr. Mark Miodownik, Nalini Nadkarni, Steven Strogatz, Richard B. Alley, Jane Lubchenco, and Richard Tapia.

Click here for eligibility and nomination procedures. For questions on nominations, contact Rebekah Corlew, award coordinator, AAAS, at

Each year, AAAS recognizes significant contributions to science and the public’s understanding of science. Learn more about these awards and nominate a scientist, engineer, author, journalist or public servant for their outstanding work in one or more categories. All nominations must be submitted fully completed on or before midnight on August 15.

 About the Award

The AAAS Award for Public Engagement with Science, established in 1987 and formerly the AAAS Public Understanding of Science and Technology (PUST) Award, recognizes scientists and engineers who, while working in their fields, have also contributed substantially to the public's engagement with science or technology. Learn more »

Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists


  • How to Enter
  • Current Winners
  • Past Winners
  • Latest Press Release
  • The Prize is awarded annually to one young scientist for outstanding life science research for which he/she was awarded a doctoral degree in the previous two years. The topic of the entrant's thesis research must be in one of the following categories: Cell and Molecular Biology, Genomics and Proteomics, Ecology and Environment, Translational Medicine. Entrants for the 2017 prize must have been awarded their Ph.D. between January 1 2015 and December 31 2016.   Application deadline: July 15, 2017

    Dance Your Ph.D.

    How to enter

    1. Turn your Ph.D. thesis into a dance.
    2. Post the video on YouTube.
    3. Send us the link by 29 September 2017 at 11:59 EST.

    The prizes

    A cash prize goes to the best Ph.D. dance in each category:

    PHYSICS – $500

    CHEMISTRY – $500

    BIOLOGY – $500


    The rules

    1. You must have a Ph.D., or be working on one as a Ph.D. student.
    2. Your Ph.D. must be in a science-related field (see FAQ).
    3. You must be part of the dance (see FAQ).

    Submission deadline: 29 September 2017 at 11:59 EST

    Those are the basics. Here’s the fine print.

    See last year's winner for inspiration.

    Copyright © 2019 The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

    Links provided from the UTHSCSA pages to other websites do not constitute or imply an endorsement of those sites, their content, or products and services associated with those sites.

    ← Previous entry Next entry →

    comments powered by Disqus